top of page

"Coward"

Here she comes…..Right on time…….As always, she does.

Me? ...I am late…..dismissively ignorant with her cues and signs, and overly polite hellos and……

Her eyes….

Lamp shades to a kindred soul…...Far superior to mine own.

She beckons my arrival.

She Champions the start of our departure together….giddy of future possibility filled with endeavors & Itineraries.

An Experience packed volume of only her and I.

And at embarkation time, as her head slowly turns towards mine…

Her smile melts away from her face,

The once glowing embers of her eyes have grown cold.

The baggage that I carry...has grown too heavy for my limbs.

It has left my position sedentary and stagnant.

Tears form in my eyes, my voice muffles, as they begin to stream down my face.

I have let my past disconnect my ability of futures and present. ….

And as heavy as the bags were …...once opened……

Contained nothing.

I have nothing.

-Me


bottom of page